Cry…

So,  I stumbled into the Quicktime Trailers site at Apple.com and came upon this little gem.

Then, while watching it, I started to cry.  I was crying because I realized that I was so caught up in the video that I picked up my phone and went to call my Dad to tell him about it, and that he needed to see it as soon as possible.

He would have been first in line to see this movie.  3 of his favorite musicians in the same place talking about what they love.  Talking about what he loved on a level that most can’t comprehend.  My father was the only musician I know that didn’t regularly play an instrument.  I am sorry that he won’t be able to see this.  I am sure I will watch it over and over again, as they are 3 of my favorite musicians too.  He taught me about Jimmy and Led Zeppelin, He taught me about The Edge and U2, and I gave him Jack White and the White Stripes, and The Raconteurs.

That’s usually the way it went. He gave me his lifetime of music, and I, sometimes, got to add to his playlist.

Foo Fighters, Metallica, Black Label Society… The list of music he introduced me too is vastly larger than what I gave him, and I will always, ALWAYS, be greatful for that!

I hope that I get to impart the intense love of music to Caitlyn as she grows up. There is hope, she was dancing to Jungle Love by Morris Day and The Time last night.  Her PuhPuh would be proud!  I even got her to say, “Who’s Stella is this?” 🙂

That’s all for now. Enjoy the clip.

    • John Hampton
    • June 16th, 2009

    Much props to your dad. Caitlyn was lucky enough to know both a grandfather and a father with as much love in their veins as piss and vinegar

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

